Sprintcars Queensland Sprintcars Qld
New Page 1

Kicking Up The Dirt - Australian Sprintcar Open - Night 2
Joanne White posted Sunday January 12, 2020.

Sprintcars returned to Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway last night for the final night of the 2020 Titan Garages and Sheds Australian Sprintcar Open. With wet weather predicted to hit the track the program was amended to see just one round of heats, but the rain arrived just before 7pm, as the Shootout cars were getting ready to roll onto the track, and persisted long enough to give organisers no choice but to cancel the remainder of the program. With all qualifying events for the weekend completed Kerry Madsen led the points going into the main events, with Lachlan McHugh second ahead of Jock Goodyer, Donny Schatz and James McFadden.

We started the night with heat seven of the weekend, with Tim Farrell and Brock Hallett from the front row to lead the field to the green flag. Hallett got the jump as they took the green, with Farrell soon surrendering second to Rusty Hickman who charged around the top side while behind him Luke Oldfield made his way around Mark Pholi and soon started searching for a way past Farrell. Oldfield got underneath Farrell a lap later, while Lachlan McHugh found his way past Kevin Titman and Mark Pholi in the first couple of laps of the race before turning his attention to Farrell. Pholi fought back, regaining his position when McHugh made a small error in turn four, while Oldfield searched high and low for a way past Hickman. McHugh challenged Pholi for position once more, the pair coming together on the back straight, ending with McHugh spun to a stop on the inside edge of the track in turn three and bringing the race under caution. A quick two lap dash to the chequered flag followed, with Andrew Scheuerle capitalising when Farrell and Titman came together in turn two, but there was no stopping Brock Hallett out in front. Rusty Hickman finished second ahead of Luke Oldfield and Tim Farrell, with Andrew Scheuerle home in fifth and leading Mark Pholi, Kevin Titman, Lachlan McHugh and Jason Pryde across the line. Jai Stephenson did not finish the event.

Cody Maroske and Glen Sutherland shared the front row for the start of heat eight. The first start was aborted, officials deeming Sutherland to have jumped the start, and while the second time around was much more even, it was still Sutherland who secured the lead as they rounded the first corner. David Murcott made his way underneath Maroske as they navigated turn two and set his sights on Sutherland, while Jack Lee challenged Brooke Tatnell for fourth before surrendering a position to Shaun Dobson. James McFadden and Donny Schatz had a close battle initially before Schatz pulled ahead and began challenging Lee. McFadden eventually made his way ahead of Schatz when Schatz got a little too wide in turn four, but in the end it was Glen Sutherland who was first past the chequered flag. David Murcott finished second ahead of Cody Maroske and Brooke Tatnell, with Shaun Dobson, Jack Lee, James McFadden, Donny Schatz, Lucas Wolfe and Kristy Bonsey rounding out the finishers.

Heat nine started with Andrew Corbet from pole position with Adam Butler alongside, and Brent Kratzmann elevated to third in the absence of Mitchell Gee, who suffered mechanical dramas on board the Q43 racer during the hot lapping session and did not make it trackside for his heat. Corbet managed to get his nose in front when the green flag flew, but Butler powered around the high line through turns one and two to take control of the race. Bryan Mann settled into third but immediately came under immense pressure from both Brent Kratzmann and Kerry Madsen. Madsen raced underneath as they rounded turn three, only for Kratzmann to swiftly return serve as they navigated turn four. Corbet closed in on Butler and the race lead as they raced closer to the chequered flag, but it was Adam Butler who went on to get the win ahead of Andrew Corbet and Bryan Mann. Brent Kratzmann crossed the line in fourth and led Kerry Madsen, Jock Goodyer, Randy Morgan, Kalib Henry and Karl Hoffmans home.

Unfortunately race rans just as the cars were starting to head towards the track for the Shootout events, Mother Nature intervened and light rain began falling over the Brisbane circuit. While we waited it out for a while in the hopes of being able to continue the event and get the 50-lap A-Main in, it soon became clear that the track and pit areas were too wet and left the track promoters and event organisers no option but to cancel the remainder of the program. Kerry Madsen led the points heading into the shootout events, ahead of Lachlan McHugh, Jock Goodyer, Donny Schatz, James McFadden, Luke Oldfield, Andrew Scheuerle and Jack Lee with Brent Kratzmann and Rusty Hickman rounding out the top ten.

World Series Sprintcars will head to Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway for a special Tuesday Night show, this Tuesday 14 January 2020, while the next Sprintcars Queensland show will be in two weeks time, on Saturday 25 January 2020 at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway for another round of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Series.


[ Back To Referring Page | Back To News ]

New Page 1
New Page 1
20/3 Archerfield Speedway
3/4 Archerfield Speedway
17/4 Archerfield Speedway
1/5 Archerfield Speedway
22/5 Archerfield Speedway
29/5 Archerfield Speedway
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis